Making a cutting board from a single piece of Beech

Discussion in 'Woodworking Hand Tools' started by Quetico Chris, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Quetico Chris

Quetico Chris New Member

I am a novice woodworker looking to make a cutting board out of a single piece of Beech,. I am only using hand tools, no power tools what so ever. This includes cutting the tree up by hand as well. I'm looking for some advice on how to make the cutting board with minimal warp in the final product.

2. Woodyoumind?

Woodyoumind? New Member

I don't know about the rest of the question, but when you get it made make sure you season it first and then occasionally with an edible oil like mineral oil. This keeps it from cracking and warping after you have it made. If you use other cooking oils they could turn rancid and then it would be ruined.

3. Taggart

Taggart New Member

To me, that sounds like a big job - But anything I've done similar to that was in a wood shop with the benefit of a surface planer and other power tools.

Woodyoumind, are you saying that we should be careful about leaving substances like olive oil on the cutting boards that we've already been using?

4. Wood Gnome

Wood Gnome New Member

Olive oil can be used safely. It has a higher tendency to turn rancid than mineral oil or coconut oil, but can still be used sparingly. Most experts recommend using mineral oil, beeswax, walnut, almond or coconut oil.

5. Taggart

Taggart New Member

I've rubbed wax into a checkerboard I made years ago... But I definitely don't slice cheese on that board. :cool:

I think it will be quite a challenge to cut the tree up by hand and arrive at a uniform thickness.

6. oldnamvet

oldnamvet Member