Woodworking Havens

Discussion in 'Woodworking Hand Tools' started by angelicwriter, Feb 4, 2009.

1. angelicwriter

angelicwriter New Member

I'm quite new to woodworking and was wondering what is the best place to purchase woodworking hand tools? Is places like Lowes & Home Depot best?:confused:

2. WoodChuck

WoodChuck New Member

There are actually quite a few places you can go to. If you check out the top of this page there is a link that says Shopping. If you just hover over it a nice little pop up will give you some other choices as well.

3. Wood Gnome

Wood Gnome New Member

I have shopped at Toolbarn.com and find it to be pretty competitve as far as pricing goes. Sometimes you pay more than at Lowes or Home Depot but many times I find higher quality tools at competive pricing.

4. woodywoodpecker

woodywoodpecker New Member

I've looked at Rockler and Woodcraft quite and bit and they both have some things that are very nice, especially for a beginner. I am going to look for a beginner's set and start from there. You can't go wrong with a good basic set.:D

5. Taggart

Taggart New Member

I wonder if you could find any gems on Craigslist?

As I mentioned in another thread, last year I saw some great old tools for sale at a house contents auction.

Maybe there would be some at garage sales, too.

6. Woodyoumind?

Woodyoumind? New Member

Yes, sometimes you can run into a treasure trove of goodies at an old estate sale or a yard sale. A lot of people don't use the older tools and are eager to get rid of them for various reasons. I got a great hand saw with wonderful hand carved detail on the handle at a yard sale for a great price.

7. Wood Gnome

Wood Gnome New Member

A lot depends on how familiar you are with woodworking tools. If you are new to the tools as well as the craft, I would suggest buying your starter kit new.

8. Sandy Rose

Sandy Rose New Member